My name is Terisé and I wear breeches and boat shoes…a lot.

In August of 2013 I began a new chapter in my life and bought a new horse, Southern Axcent. After riding for years, and showing my first horse, Smithfields’ Irish Angel, for most of them, I never expected to get another horse. But opportunities arise at the most unexpected of times—when Ax came around, it was definitely one of those times. I spent a summer on Martha’s Vineyard with him, fell in love, and when we came back to reality I knew I couldn’t let him get away. Before I knew it, the papers were signed and he was mine. Although I still didn’t know where this adventure was going to take me, I was ready.

So why do I blog? After being inspired by a few people, I decided to jump in head first. What began as a place to update my friends and family on my adventures with my new horse turned into something else. From product reviews to lifestyle posts to my personal riding adventures, Breeches and Boat Shoes has become more than I could imagine.

Welcome to the life of a New England girl and her adventures in breeches and boat shoes.

Southern Axcent

Southern Axcent is a 2000 Oldenburg gelding from down South. He came to me as a hunter and medal horse with a dirty stop “when the fences get too high”. After a year of almost-strictly flat work, he started looking like an entirely different horse and we got back into over fences work. We currently show in the Modified Amateur Adult Equitation and Hunters. He is the biggest snuggle bug, is constantly searching for cookies, and is obsessed with food.

Smithfields’ Irish Angel

My very first pony, whom we still have, is a 1998 Morgan mare named Smithfields’ Irish Angel. My mother purchased her for my tenth birthday as a saddleseat, carriage, and in-hand horse. She transitioned her over to dressage and then I rode her hunt seat as well as jumping. Together we showed in 4-H, NHHSET, breed, and open shows for eight years where we took home numerous trophies, went to a few regional finals, and won too many ribbons to count. Currently she stays at home in NH with my mom, who rides her dressage.